Google Page Rank 4 in less than two months

Abhishek
Abhishek
from Allahabad
11 years ago

Hi Folks,

The latest Google Page Rank update has surprised (rather shocked) me. My new Open Source blog It's FOSS which is not even two months old has a Google Page Rank 4 (and Alexarank 500K+, if it matters). In last 50 days, I have published 30 posts so far, all of them related to Linux, Open Source, Ubuntu.

So far, there has not been even a single comment on the new blog. Traffic has been, I would say, poor. In 50 days it has 2200 pageviews with 1.64 pages/visit and duration of 1.45 (Analytics stats).

It has 13 Feedburner subscribe. I have not tried to advertise this blog on my "bigger blog".

While my other general purpose technology blog Computer And You has a page rank of 3 only despite that it being almost 2 years old (1 year since it moved to self hosting).

Now I have little knowledge about SEO and stuff, though I do not focus much on it, I wonder what I am doing right with my new blog that it got this good page rank in under 2 months.

Experienced bloggers and SEO experts, any ideas on this one? How long do you think one should take to get Google Page Ranks?

Edited 11 years ago
Reason: To provide more information
Replies 1 to 8 of 8 Descending
Shalu Sharma
Shalu Sharma
from Patna, Delhi
11 years ago

Only you can tell what you are doing right with your blog. Its all about useful content. High PR but alexa rank is way to high. 

Abhishek
from Allahabad
11 years ago

Thanks for reply Shalu,

Alexa rank is too high.. agree. But I am still not able to understand how come it got PR4 so soon, without high traffic? There are not many backlinks to my website as well.

Medha Nagur
Medha Nagur
from Bangalore
11 years ago

Hey Abhishek.

I am surprised in the same way as you are. My blog is just 3+ months old and my PR has jumped from 0 to 3 in just few weeks after I last checked my page rank.