stopping blind promotion

Madhur Chadha
Madhur Chadha
from Hyderabad
12 years ago

I am pretty new to Indi blogger and had seen something little disturbing, people blindly promoting posts.

Now you may ask whats the problem with that, well for starters it sort of skews the ranking and  who shows on the home page and also promote button really looses its value

One person, deepak karthik recently wrote on this

http://www.indiblogger.in/indipost.php?post=101184

Now blind promotion to me is like Spam, where the spammer leaves the same comment oevr an over again across 1000 of blogs.This is just like that. 

Also newbie bloggers get the hang of it and sort of blindly start promoting the people who promoted them, thus the person with most people in network always wins

Maybe this has been discssed before but i wanted to know from the audence is it worth correcting and how to do it.

One idea i can suggest is :Limit the number of Promotes a person can do per day, say I can promote only 10 posts per day.This might be a viable option, and if you really read more than 10 posts in a day, you need to choose the best 10 to promote

Edited 12 years ago
Reason: some typos
Replies 1 to 8 of 8 Descending
Madhur Chadha
Madhur Chadha
from Hyderabad
12 years ago

are, i am not talking about spam, i am saying dont let people promote more than 1 posts per day on indiblogger

How it harms: Well if suppose you write a good post and maybe 10 pepple promote it to start with and

someone with a network of 1000 people goes ahead and promotes the post of all 1000, for sure atleast 100 will come back and promote his/her blog irrespective of how bad it might be out of courtesy.Your post is lost in  wilderness, you basically will not stand a chance of being on home page ever or amongst the top rated?

Madhur Chadha
Madhur Chadha
from Hyderabad
12 years ago

Its more like fooling the system, someone with enough time on their hands can actually do that easily.