What about content quality?

Suman Bolar
Suman Bolar
from Bangalore
14 years ago

I have a (purely cerebral) question. I'm fairly new to Indiblogger, but I have been writing for a very long time. While there are plenty of really good blogs listed on Indiblogger, I've seen countless blogs that are poorly written, barely coherent, and badly punctuated. While I agree that a blog is a form of self-expression, isn't there some way of monitoring the quality of content? Surely Indirank can't perfom that task - or can it? Just because a blog gets a lot of traffic, does it make it a blog of quality? And even if it contains stunning ideas and thoughts, isn't the basic premise of a blog based on the concept of good writing? Any thoughts?

Replies 1 to 9 of 9 Descending
Anoop Zombie
Anoop Zombie
from Bangalore
14 years ago

Hmmm.. interesting subject .. I guess Indiblogger should reaearch into NeuralNetworks to get this done :) "badly punctuated" nice one .. reminds me of my blog LOL

leon
from kolkata
14 years ago

guess i would belong to your category ^^

Suman Bolar
Suman Bolar
from Bangalore
14 years ago

Neural Networks??!! Nah... just some proofreaders, methinks. The odd missed apostrophe or comma here and there doesn't bother me. A bloggin platform isn't meant to be a grammar class. 

It's just that I'm tired of reading sentences like "Hello my friends welcome to my latest blog. I have been blogged for past four month and am enjoying each and every entries and each and every comment of your. Now, to your kind eye, my new entries is come. It is on the film of New York." And so on...

My point is that if you can't write well in English, you should probably blog in the vernacular. If you choose not to exercise that option, I'm curious about whether there's a way for aggregators like Indiblogger to weed out well-written content from the likes of my over-the-top, but all-too-commonly-found example above.

Suman Bolar
Suman Bolar
from Bangalore
14 years ago