WORDPRESS PLUGIN: AKISMET - How effective is it?

CyberKID
CyberKID
from India
8 years ago

I have been into blogging for a little more than 2.5 years now. However, all of my blogging has concentrated on blogger as the platform of choice. Whatever features I required, I added with the help of some workarounds. Recently, I started a self hosted wordpress blog. The blog concentrates on the niche of blogging. Since my choice of blogging platform has been blogger, I have some knowledge of blogger, but when it comes to wordpress, I am just a n00b. Taking a look at the Akismet (the spam comment blocking plugin) statistics for my blog, as of writing this, it says it has blocked 197 spam comments. Reading through some of these spam comments, I found some of them to be really spammy. However, some other comments appear more of generalised comments and somewhat relevant to my blog posts' contents. Reading through these many comments being marked spam by Akismet, I now have a certain doubt arising about the efficiency of Akismet. Is it really that great as it claims itself to be? If yes, what about these general yet relevant looking comments that are being submitted and being marked spam by Akismet. Shall I ignore these comments?

I would like suggestions from whoever who has an exposure to wordpress for blogging. For your reference, I am quoting a few comments I have received but are not moderated since Akismet thinks these are spammy comments.

Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason seemed tobe on the web the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, Idefinitely get annoyed while people consider worries that theyplainly do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also definedout the whole thing without having side effect , people can takea signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks